So after our visit to Rome we came back and had lunch...again very delicious :D I was thinking that I have had pasta everyday this week! but its good so I don't mind :)
So then we sort of just chilled and read and whatever...then later on in the afternoon Giumberto, Marco, Sara and i went down to the river again and took the dogs with us...They have a absolutely gorgeous golden retriever called Darke and another little scottie type dog called Moor...so we took them and they were so happy to be in the water, as were we on such a hot day! So we did a long nice walk down the river until it sort of became too deep for the dogs, etc and then we turned back..I can't really say why but I really like them river and just walking there so this was nice...
(side note especially for Geordie) Geord, you MUST find some fresh water species that you can examine in the Farfa river and come down here at some point it is so stunning and what a perfect excuse :) haha
So then Sara and Marco went somewhere, not sure where exactly for a drive or something and so I had some time to shower and relax and Matteo lent me his acoustic guitar and so it was really really nice to be able to play again, you know, to do something familiar... although I think I left my guitar file at home because I can't find it in my suitcase which sucks...
Then we had supper, yum, tonight there was tagliatelle, crumbed meat (sort of like venus snitchel), roast potatoes, salad, briosque (?) not sure on the spelling but toasted bread with topping, so good!, bread and for dessert a cheesecake that Marco's mom made....then later I have no clue why so late, around 10, Sara, her dad and I went out to get Gelato, which was also so good....we went back to the beautiful little town we went to once when I forgot my camera called Fara in Sabina i think, I really like it there and despite it being late, there were people everywhere, adults having beer, kids playing soccer in the road and couples sitting together, you would have thought it was some big event that night like New Years Eve or something but people generally just seem to stay up later here, even when it does get dark....
Ok then today, this morning we haven't done anything and so we could sleep late...Sara slept till 10:30 and I woke up at 9 so I had some time alone to read and stuff.... then we had breakfast and have sort of just been on our computers, etc for the rest of the morning but will probably have lunch soon soon.... later today we are going to see a lake and some of the villages close by to it and I can hopefully try out my auto-bank card at some point and then later, cause its my last night, we are going out for pizzas :) Then tomorrow I move to family number 2.... a little anxious but they seem really nice and her daughter can speak quite good English, although she won't be there too often....also we are picking up the other boy from Croatia who is staying with us from the airport tomorrow and it's quite funny because I actually "know" him, well I have him on Facebook and stuff and for a while now we have been messaging and stuff because we both knew we were in Rome (didn't know about the family though) and so we wanted to try get on the same train to go to camp because he is also coming on the camp :) and he speaks English :)
Ok well will tell you about the lake, etc later......
- Caity xx
Hey hey! Sorry I have been missioning away so not been able to follow your travels for the last 2 days.... it all sounds just so wonderfully slow and summer-holiday-ish; that sense of the days merging into one another as you do these interesting and fab little excursions - I hope your photos have dates on them so you can match up with your travel blog because I am sure otherwise you will not recognise one town from another!! - when you give us the major slide show! Nice descriptions of the towns and especially the churches - and it's always so memorable these rather odd discoveries (like the cribs) that really stick with one...
ReplyDeleteI know you are sweltering but I could really use some of that - horribly cold here. Off to Druban next week so should get warm finally!
love geord