So this actually is my account for yesterday, but I was so tried and then the internet went down so I couldn't blog yesterday, anyway, so this is for yesterday and later tonight I will blog about today :)
Ok, so yesterday was really great! We went to the pharmacy around 10 and then we were given directions and bus tickets and were told we could just go into Rome and do whatever and see whatever... :)
So we were very lost and confused at first but gradually we got it and managed to actually read off our maps and stuff and we had a lovely day just doing whatever it was we wanted to do...
So first we caught the bus and got off at Trevi Fountain. We walked from there for ages, just up and down streets, very lost in search of this one churn that Dragutin wanted to see, I really didn't mind but he was desperate so we trooped around in the 42 degrees weather to look for it. We eventually found it, but it was closed and only opening again at 3:30... yes, you can imagine the disappointment and frustration. So we went to get lunch at Burger King and planned the rest of the route...
So everything we went to was sort of Dragutin's dream to visit, he is fascinated by Bernini, so we went to some square (forgot the name) with a fountain that he sculpted, very beautiful... next we went to the Pantheon again and then back to Trevi for ice-cream. We also did a LOT of shopping, I guess that was my side of the bargain he got to see all the museums and galleries and stuff (not really my scene when I have already seen them) and I got to shop :) Bought lots of presents and souvenirs and stuff, etc....then we went back to the church, which was really so beautiful, it was called Sancta Maria della Victoria...
Allt he churches have such stunning ceilings and just everywhere is so detailed, really so amazing... I wonder how long it took to build them? Hmm, a long time I am sure!
All of the street vendors and souvenir shops sell the same sort of typical Italian souvenirs, but i like going into all of them because in each one there are always just a few items that are unique to that shop and sometimes, if you are lucky, you find a keeper :) There are loads of I LOVE ROME Tshirts and hoodies, lots of Venetian masks, rosaries from the vatican and for some reason the whole of Rome seems obsessed with Pinocchio too so there are lots of statues and key rings with that too :)
Anyways, I am so tired so will tell you tomorrow about our further adventures in Rome today as well as what we do tomorrow...
Chat soon...
Love
- Caity xx
No comments:
Post a Comment