This morning we went to Rome again :D we did all the same stuff with the train and the metro and stuff but headed straight towards the Colosseum....when we got there, it was a bit of a surprise for me, because the thing is that I have seen photos and post cards, etc of it and it looked pretty but I had seen it and so I didn't think I would be absolutely stunned or anything like that. But when we saw it, it literally just took my breath away because it was so big and so beautiful and honestly, I don't think one can properly understand it unless you see it in person! The queue was massive but lucky for us, their aunt works in the Roman Forum and has loads of connections and so we got in for free and without waiting :) wow, inside was incredible, even more so! There were probably about 5 stories but only 2 of them were accessible to walk on....there were hundreds of tourists but there was definitely enough space... If you looked down to the center at the bottom, there were all these tunnels and stuff, I am not exactly sure what for though, because we didn't get a tour as I'm sure I will when we go there again on the camp, and then all around the "arena", were these absolutely ancient remains of where the spectator stands used to be, etc...it was really cool! :) Matteo told me that a while back there were these (obviously stupid) tourists who wrote their names into the bricks in the walls of the Colosseum...and they were caught and fined something like 200 000 euros! times that by 11 and that's what we'd be paying!! so lesson learnt, do not write on the walls of the Colosseum, haha :)
So after that, we went to look at the Roman Forum (i think it's called) which if I have the name right is a collected of super ancient buildings from the times of Ancient Roman gladiators and emperors and Julius Caesar, etc....we did the sort of suggested walk through all of that and looked at these stunning old buildings and remains, we also saw the building where Julius Caesar was murdered and also where the emperor's parliament and stuff used to be....It is really hot again today, but this trip to Rome was very different to last time because we sort of just went to these two places and then went back (a good idea in the heat) and so we weren't walking down the streets and stuff like last time which is a pity because I wanted to take a look at some of the shops and stuff and maybe buy some clothes, etc but its fine I guess because I am staying very close to the center of Rome from saturday onwards for a week so I will catch up on shopping then :D
Oh, so the reason why this is about oros (:)) is because its quite funny for me because at home, I am used to having fruit juice or something in the fridge and if all else fails, there's always oros in the cupboard too, but its very different for me here, because the family only drinks water and occasionally orange juice for breakfast...please don't judge me like some rich girl who only has juice (hahaha :) ) its just not what I'm used to and when walking through Rome today, in the heat, I was thinking how much I would love some oros in my water, haha, yes thats what I am thinking about in a city like Rome...but anyway...
I have chatted to the mom of the second family and she says...from what I have established from google translate, etc...that a 17 year old boy from Croatia is also staying with us (i think?) which is nice if he speaks English :) I do hope that communication isn't too much of a problem with the second family....so excited to meet everyone for the camp and thats not to far away either anyways.... :)
With love......
- Caity xx
No comments:
Post a Comment