Monday, 18 June 2012

INERTIA

Today we went to Rome :D


(side note) I only fully understood inertia for the first time today after going on the train, metro and tram so many times and stopping and starting, etc)


Rome is stunning! It is honestly so so beautiful!! and its so weird to be in a city so incredibly different to your own....so we woke up and caught the train and metro to Rome....then we basically spent till lunchtime wandering around and seeing some of the main attractions. First we went to the Spanish steps, they were so cool, hundreds of them and beautiful sculptures engraved in and stuff and lots of Japanese tourists posing the peace sign at the top :) so we walked to the top as well and it was really cool to see its skyline and all the domes, etc. next we went to the trevi fountain which i really loved. It was so huge compared to what I expected and the detail was amazing! again loads of tourists but i managed to get some photos and throw 10c into the water :) next we went to the Pantheon. This was so beautiful and I have never heard of it before so it was nice and different. Its basically this massive really ancient church with a circular hole in the center of the roof. It is so beautiful, I cant even describe it probably and just everywhere you look its like intriguing for your eye. Then we went to look at the street paintings and all that, which was really cool you know like people doing your portrait quickly and chalk on the road and stuff.....we ended off by walking over to St Peter's Basillica which was incredible, I honeslty had no idea it was so huge! but the queue to get in was equally as huge so we decided to leave going in cause i will see it on the camp. Along the way we also stopped at many churchs, I really liked one called the Sancta Maria church which was just so peaceful and again stunning. I mean I know that Michaelangelo's paintings on the roof will be beautiful but people have underestimated the beauty of the others...like in most of the churches that we went into, there were really beautiful paintings n the roof.


It is so so hot today! Worse than yesterday and honestly not the best day to see Rome because it exhausts you and you have to re-apply sunblock like every 10 mins :) buut still it was nice to see the town busteling with life....hundreds of people everywhere you look. Its also really cool cause 1)I saw a tram for the first time and 2) they have these buses that just drive aroundt he city and then you can get on and ride for free and then if you want to make a request for where it stops, you pay a bit...but you can just get off at other people's stops, etc....


Another thing is that Rome is filled with motorbikes (they call them scooters)...every second person has one and you'll walk down alleys with them just lined up, they are EVERYWHERE :) Just chilling at home now, when I am not out it is quite lonely and stuff cause they can't really understand me and stuff but I really am looking forward to the camp so thats keeping me going when I m feeling down.
Another plus is that I got my mac charger fixed so I dont have to worry about my battery running out anymore...


With Love
-Caity xx




No comments:

Post a Comment